Being Rude, Free Time and Art

I got a phone call from the Breast Cancer people soliciting funds this morning. I am already on the Do Not Call list but I know this kind of call is exempt. I really don’t know why I picked up the phone once I saw what it was but I did. I said "Hello" and she identified herself and then started on her statement. I interrupted her saying I knew it was a good cause but… I was going to say I don’t contribute to any charity that calls me, but at that point, damned if she didn’t pick up the words "good cause" and continue right over what I was saying starting with "This is a good cause…. I HATE that so I cut her off without even a word. So I started the day all irritable because I was Well Brought Up and know I was being rude!

I miss seeing physical therapy on my calendar but I am thrilled with how many free days I have! There are two appointments I have to put on there once I make them: one is to reschedule with the ophthalmologist and the other is to schedule with one of the local massage therapist on my list. I cancelled the appointment with the ophthalmologist when physical therapy got so intense that I felt I had to give it all my attention. And my plan for massages is to schedule a new one once a month until I find one that I am totally happy with and then I will go back to my once every fortnight schedule.

Yesterday, I sent an email to the person who runs the art class that I attended a month or so ago. It was on making art journals you might remember. I enjoyed the class but it was not anything I leaped on with shrieks of joy and immediate scheduled another class! Anyway, remembering what I enjoyed in the classes I attended in Burlington, I wrote to T. asking if she had ever considered offering Open Studio classes. These were use of the space {and the acrylic paints if you needed them–I didn’t because I brought my own better-quality paints} and an instructor there to help if you needed one.

I found the atmosphere of we-are-all-doing-our-own-thing-together very inspiring and I noticed all the group, like me, took breaks to walk around and see what everyone else was doing. Since the Burlington instructor and I had excellent rapport, I trusted her and learned from her comments as she wandered by. Other students came for specific instructions in techniques. Each of these sessions covered two hours for six weeks and we bought a book of six tickets which could be used one each for the whole one day a week for six weeks or occasionally as we could fit the sessions in. Anyway, the local instructor thought it was a great idea and said she would talk to her husband –also an artist– about it. So, we shall see.

OK, since  yesterday was a day where I did the physical therapy exercise, that means today I am recovering! Time to empty the dishwasher and put the dishes away, gather up recyclables–the bag of non-recyclables is waiting by the door– and continue with my day!

 

 

 

 

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 9, 2013

i get so tired of phone calls begging me for money that i will answer them and lay the phone down and walk away and clean something. if i had money, i’d donate on my own. i’d call them. won’t respond to anyone who calls me. don’t trust people to be honest and be who they say they are. i’ve got to get my rear end up and do my pt exercises for this morning. then, do them again later on in the afternoon. hopefully, you’ll get the art classes that you suggested. take care,

August 9, 2013

I don’t think you should feel you were rude. I think those people are the ones who are rude, who keep right on talking when you want to say “no.” I usually don’t even bother to say more than “no thank you” before I hang up.

You think that’s rude? You couldn’t have just hung up as soon as she started her spiel. If you can stand listening to the ringing you could just not answer. We get several calls a day even though we are on the do-not-call list. And there are sale calls as well as not-for-profit ones. So irritating! Open studio sessions are a wonderful idea.

August 9, 2013

I agree with the other noters. YOU weren’t the one that was rude in that phone conversation.

August 9, 2013

If the telephone solicitor doesn’t take a hint from me I hang up. Mr. LBH says, “Your call is important to us” and leaves the phone sitting on the counter. The Open Studio framework sounds interesting.

August 9, 2013

I can’t stand those phone calls either, and it just kills me inside when I have to say no to them. Especially when it is the Met calling. But I live on a very limited income, and so, it has to be. And I just say these days that I don’t give to charity over the phone.

August 9, 2013

I am always rude when I get phone calls like that. But when I get stuff in the snailmail, I sometimes contribute. It is just rude and so intrusive when they call! Yaaaaaaaaay for you now having more free time! I know you will enjoy it! hugs, Nicky

I know that charitable organizations and politicians (!!!) are exempt from the Do Not Call list. If I happen to answer the phone from a charity I just say “I already donate to the causes that are important to me and I prefer not to be called at home” and then I hang up. Political calls just go to voice mail. It’s a little scary to think that anyone would be influenced on who to vote for, basedon a recorded political call.

August 9, 2013
August 10, 2013

Your only obligation to phone solicitors is to say three words ‘sorry, no, bye’ and hang up the phone. The same as when you get a phone call and it’s automated and says ‘please hold the line’. Nope, not gonna do it. Why should I waste my time waiting for someone to try to sell me something I don’t want or need? (huggles)

I HATE getting those types of phone calls. Ooo, you’re art class suggestion sounds very interesting. Hope the teacher goes along with it. Hugs,M

August 11, 2013
km
August 12, 2013

How I love that quote. I hope you get your art class. It sounds fun.

km
August 12, 2013

How I love that quote. I hope you get your art class. It sounds fun.