Clutter, the Kitchen Table and PT

  • More and more I am coming to realize how much I like my little apartment. Part of this feeling is that I am confronting the notion that clutter depresses me. This is MY clutter and if I want to continue to enjoy living here, *I* am the one who needs to organize it. Yesterday I cleaned all the clutter off the coffee table and so at tea time I was able to put my tray there. I am also glad that small things still please me.
  • My kitchen is very small and is made smaller by the fact that I have a table on wheels and a stool  in there. Before I did all this physical therapy, I could stand only for a few minutes so I sat on the stool a lot and didn’t mind too much having to move the table around a lot to get to various cupboards and drawers. But now I can stand to do what needs to be done, I am getting annoyed by having to move the table and stool so much; on the other hand, I find I still need to sit at the end of the day when I am tired! I find myself looking around the apartment for a permanent home for the table…
  • I am continuing with the physical therapy at home. What seems to make sense to me {and my body which does have a say in this} is to do the exercises every second day so in a few minutes I am going to lie on my bed with the Big Red Ball and do leg exercises.

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

Good job on the therapy!

August 8, 2013

Excellent on the therapy. I get annoyed with clutter, too. I think it has something to do with the feng shui philosophy. I don’t know a lot about it, but I know that a clean, clutter-free environment brings harmony and a free flow of energy. My mom is a hoarder. She’s not healthy. I think the two are related. The emotional burden of all that STUFF just wears on you.

I love the idea that you have tea time. Makes me want to do the same. 🙂

August 8, 2013

That is splendid about the physical therapy! And that you are finding the apartment more comfortable. Yes, the little things can help make everything go so much more easily.

August 9, 2013

i have what i call controlled clutter but i find myself lately getting rid of stuff that irritates me. angela comes over and i find after she leaves that she’s left little messes all around. they all do that at her house but, i clean up my messes as i make them so i find myself muttering as i clean up her messes. i do pt exercises at home between p/t visits. will be walking and driving again soon!take care,