More Appointments & Keeping Track

  • This morning I made two appointments. The first was to see the ophthalmologist and the second is to see an audiologist. I have been noticing that my hearing seems to be declining a bit in that I cannot always hear clearly what people are saying. I also am more comfortable with TV when I have the closed captioning turned on.  In the last year or so of his life, Fred’s hearing deteriorated a lot but he wouldn’t get himself tested. In order for him to hear what was on television, he needed to have it turned up very high or use his earphones. He did use his earphones when I was in the room but when I was out, he just turned the TV up high. There were times when he refused to believe he had hearing problems and it was all the fault of the person speaking to him for not speaking clearly! Unfortunately, from what I understand, Medicare will not pay for hearing aids if I need them, but I will tackle that problem when it comes.
  • After I am finished here, I am going to Lowes to get myself a stiff outdoor broom to keep my little patio clean. I have a straw brush which is just not stiff enough to  sweep the patio without a lot of energy! I am all for conserving my energy since these days I have nowhere as much as I used to have.
  • This morning I did exercises with the large ball and small one. I am finding the small ball can be used while I am watching TV. I am not going into details about the exercises since I think that basically the details are not of interest to anyone but me but I am keeping a record here for a while, anyway. I may find I do better with a notebook.

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

PT: leg exercises with large and small exercise balls.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2013

And me! You just have to know that exercise is interesting to ME, but that doesn’t mean you have to write about it. 😉 I think my husband’s hearing is going. The other day, I had to repeat myself VERY LOUDLY three times before he understood me.

August 12, 2013
August 12, 2013

no, medicare will not pay for hearing aides. i should keep a record of my pt exercises every day. a stiff broom for outside would be nice. i could certainly use one for my steps and my front sidewalk. take care,

My husband also blames the person who is speaking to him for not speaking clearly when he can’t hear what someone has said. Nevermind that he has hearing loss in one ear from when he burst his ear drum! It can really be a struggle to communicate with him, but he refuses to get his hearing checked. Glad you are making an appointment 🙂

km
August 12, 2013

Ryn: Thank you for your note regarding respect. I do agree that being open to a child’s views will encourage better communication when they are older. I always enjoy hearing about your experiences with your sons.

August 12, 2013

I had a hearing test last week. I need a hearing aid for my left ear. Sadly the government won’t pay for one yet! I am not sure if I’ll wait until they will or just go get one and pay for it. I feel like I am losing out on a lot.

August 12, 2013

That’s wretched about the hearing aids and completely unfair to medicare patients. Just not right!

I am interested in your exercises. I used a large ball in therapy to sit on for balance problems and a small one for a back exercise. I have not kept up with it.