Giving Blood

  • So, today I gave a couple of vials of blood so I can eventually be told my cholesterol is too high…  And while I was sitting around at the new lab I was wondering why we say we are "giving" blood? I was certainly not making a gift of my blood this morning! It was being sucked out of me! Mind you, for years I was a regular blood donor, and, yes, I was donating that blood. I decided when I got to be 70 that I had donated enough…
  • I really hate having to do anything before breakfast. I am one of those weird people who has to eat within an hour of getting up otherwise I get very irritable and my knees get very shaky. So having to get out to my car, find the new lab, fill out new paperwork {but long-time readers will be glad to hear  that I was not asked when I began menopause} and then wait for the blood to be extracted and all this before I had eaten anything did not improve my quality of life this morning at all! When I went home I had a bagel and cream cheese and then went back to bed for a couple of hours!
  • And when I got up I did nothing all day except read. Let’s blame it all on the Kindle since yesterday morning I found I had the new "Reacher" book on my Kindle which was a big surprise because I had pre-ordered it and then forgotten that I had done so!
  • There is nothing on my calendar for the rest of this week except for seeing the audiologist on Thursday…

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 3, 2013

I’m with you, while I don’t mind going without food for a bit, I have to have coffee first thing when I get up.. I’m glad you went home, had a bagel and rested..

September 3, 2013

Reading is always good.

September 3, 2013

I’ve got so many books to read, I don’t even know where to start. I finally settled on the PD James book that I actually paid money for. It’s nice to read a good writer for a change.

September 4, 2013

i ‘gave’ blood yesterday morning. got the results online this morning. according to the results all is well with me. i see the doctor about the results on the 17th. that’s good, i need her to refill my prescriptions. a bagel and a nap sound great. take care,

I’m glad they didn’t ask you the menopause question, again. However, I have been asked other questions at the doctor’s that I didn’t like to answer even once.