Hospice Care

We {Toby and I} went to visit my sister at hospice care last night and I was very impressed.

She was alert and responsive. She is a a nice room with attractive prints on the wall. The is a big window just the right height for her to look out on a green area with trees and birds. Apparently there are deer which come and graze there early in the morning. Badgers have been seen there. This is particularly interesting for her because there is a badger sett in the woods behind her house and they have seen a badger in their garden several times.

She has a hospital bed so she can raise herself. No more waiting to have Toby come home from work to lift her or having Victor and me drag her up the bed bit by bit. She has a bright red call-the-nurse button pinned to the bedclothes so that she can find it easily. The nurses answer quickly and are kind. There is a bath/shower attached to her room with a padded chair so she can be wheeled in.

She has deteriorated in the week I have been here. When I came, she had a tremor in her hand on her left side but now it is both sides. Her speech was slow but clear when I arrived; now it is slurred as if she is drunk. Toby, her son, says he thinks she was holding on until I arrived and now she can let go…

I will not stay on after the 31st. When I first came, I asked her if she wanted me to stay until she died and she said no. She knows that when I say goodbye to her on her birhday, the 30th, it will be the last time we will say it. {Incidentally, following her example, we have never said she is going to "pass on" or any other euphemism. She is going to die as am I, and that is how we refer it it.}

Until later…

 

 

Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 8270 Yes, I was tempted to go out and try for 10000 after we got home but I a SOOOO good at resisting temptation

Log in to write a note
July 22, 2005

Your sister sounds like a very brave woman.

July 22, 2005

i’m glad she is being well taken care of at hospice. take care,

July 22, 2005

Yes, a very fine entry, Patrisha… and yes, Roberta is a brave woman… I have said she is a doughty woman and has been so throughout her, tho’ I’ve only known her for about five years, but have learned of her prowess from you Patricia and witnessed it first hand during her visits with us in Vermont. I am so sorry she will never come again. I will miss her….

July 22, 2005

What a blessing to you both that you are facing this head on and honestly.

July 22, 2005
July 22, 2005

I’m glad that she is being well taken care of.

What a loving relationship you have with your sister.

July 22, 2005

I can’t help but think that you’re both strong and brave women. *hug*frank

July 22, 2005

What an amazing pair of sisters. My heart goes out to both of you.

I couldn’t help but cry when I read this entry, Patrisha. My heart goes out to you and your sister..what a loving relationship you have 🙂 All my best. Becky

July 22, 2005

The hospice my Grandpa died at last year was very wonderful,too. I’m so glad they have places like that to help people find a dignified,comfortable end. *hugs* Blessings to you & your family.

July 22, 2005

Hugs, luv – Our prayers are with you & your sister & her family.

It must be difficult for you. How are you handling all this?

Shi
July 22, 2005

Going to be a difficult parting. You both seem to be very strong women.

July 22, 2005

A very touching entry. I did not know how to refer to your sister dying but now I know. She is very brave person and so are you.

July 22, 2005

I’m sure this must be hard for you. I pray that it’s peaceful when she goes. In the meantime, it’s wonderful that you are there with her. I hope it all works out. 🙂 Have a good one!!! Josh

July 22, 2005

Its good to know she’s being taken care of and she can sit up herself, has a beautiful view…. its still tough.

July 22, 2005

(gentle huggles)

July 22, 2005

I’m glad it’s a nice hospice. It’s brilliant how you can talk with each other about the situation – many families can’t when it comes to the bit. I feel for you though – a hard time to go through.

July 22, 2005

I so glad you’re there. I think dying is the right word too. Anything else is so awkward.

July 22, 2005

sounds like a nice place. my granny’s in somewhere similar, and although it’s quite nice, she hates it – would much rather be in her house! unfortunately, though, she’s 97 and too infirm to live alone any more. she’s quite ill at the moment, may have to go into hospital tonight. 🙁 i hope your sister stays comfortable and in good spirits… sarah x

July 22, 2005

What a very brave person you are Patrisha, I think that is why I admire you so much.

July 22, 2005

Aw, this made me cry. It was so touching. The understanding you two share is incredible. To be able to be so honest with each other is so rare. For her to not be scared and holding on to you, she is very brave. And you are very strong. Thank you for sharing.

July 22, 2005

Thinking of you all.

July 22, 2005

lol. Hugs and love r

July 24, 2005

My heart breaks for your family right now… It is wonderful she is getting good care and that are able to be there for her right now.