Moving into the Hospice

My sister went by ambulance to hospice care this morning. She was awake and smiling. Her husband went with her. The ambulance men were excellent. They wrapped her up well and strapped her into a chair which they then carried very gently down the stairs. {I contrast this with the EMT’s who took me to the hospital with excruciating kidney stones pain and bumped me down every damned one of our stairs}  They put her in a chair in the anbulance and fastened her in with a seat belt. Then they pulled out an extra step so my BIL who has Parkinson could get in by himself.

Toby {nephew} came home in the middle of the day to change his clothes and asked me did I know that his mother wanted me to have some jewellery. As it happened, I did. She had told me that she wanted me to have all her turquoise jewellery. I had told her that I would see it went to Tabitha when I died. So, Toby went and got me the box she kept it in and gave it to me. I almost cried right then and there. I will talk to Tabitha when she comes this weekend and make sure it is all right with her but I expect that she already knows about it.  Of course, if she objects, I will NOT argue and hand it over immediately.

When Toby gets home after work today, we will go to the hospice and visit her and bring Victor home. He has already told me twice that he will cook a meal when he gets home. I asked him if he was really sure because I would be happy to do it . He said cooking is something he really enjoys and it relaxes him. {He is good at it too…}

I have done one walk today and will probably do another. I was exhausted last night. I had done three walks and all around the supermarket with Toby! It is a lovely day here and I have spent a lot of it sitting in the sunroom in a rocking chair reading and watching the birds and squirrels.

Until later…

 

 

Number of Steps on the pedometer for yesterday: 11769

Log in to write a note

Hospice is good. She’ll be well taken care of.

July 21, 2005

I hope it works out there for her. Oh, and that’s a lot of steps!!! Almost 12,000!!! Wow!! You Inspire Me. 🙂 Josh

July 21, 2005

This is very sad and beautiful. I am glad your sister is being treated respectfully. xxx

July 21, 2005

*hugs* Be well,

July 21, 2005

I adore Hospice. I’m thinking of you and your family during this difficult time. I hope this is a peaceful, reflective period for everyone.

July 21, 2005

i’m so glad she was treated with respect while being placed in the ambulance. hospice is bittersweet, i’m sure. turquoise is such a pretty stone. you did a lot of walking yesterday! unless you get up before daylight or after dark it’s just too hot to walk here. merlyn and i have been hanging out inside under a fan. take care,

July 21, 2005

Now she has care around the clock and it will be a little easier on you and her husband. Still… it puts such a ‘final’ thing on it. I’m sorry.

July 21, 2005
July 21, 2005

Sadness and goodness, intermingled.

July 21, 2005

What a difficult time for you…you’ve had a lot to bear this year.

I’m so sorry to hear about your sister. I’m sure she will be well cared for.

July 21, 2005

The hospice workers really do treat people with kindness.

July 21, 2005

I’m so glad you’re there. Life is so full of steps, gradually taking us from beginning to end. Thoughts of you – and of Fred too.

I am glad the move went smoothly.

July 21, 2005
July 21, 2005

I’m really glad that the move to hospice went so well. My grandmother was moved from the house and had a similar experience to your when you had kidney stones. I was thinking of the hospice move, and hoping it would be a good experience for your sister… as well as the rest of you. Be well. My good thoughts are with you and your family.

July 21, 2005

Hugs,

July 21, 2005

I know your sister will be happier, and your BIL will feel better. My sister is a hospice nurse. She does in home, and often talks about how it stresses the rest of the family. She thinks that if you can find a good hospice center, it is good for all concerned. Glad the move went so well.

July 21, 2005

I hope she’ll be happier and more comfortable in hospice care…it certainly sounds as though they’ll take care of her. And wow, 12000 steps? Well done!

July 21, 2005

Hospice is such a gift…Filled with special people. I’m glad for your brother in law that he’ll get some much needed rest… Hugs! Love you! ~M

July 21, 2005

It sounds like things went smoothly for your sister. It was nice she had a smile on her face when she left. I wish you all well. When will you return to US? Enjoy your trip.

July 21, 2005

I almost missed this entry…didn’t light up on my list, so I apologize. How difficult this must be for you and BIL, but oh, that hospice sounds like it will be good for her. Hugs,

hugs.

July 21, 2005

*huggs*

July 21, 2005

OMG that’s a lot of pedometer steps!

July 22, 2005

*hugs* i hope they look after her wonderfully. well done on all the steps you’re doing! sarah xx

July 22, 2005

Remids me of my son who enjoys doing dishes.

July 22, 2005

I’m glad the ambulance men were good at their job and treated your sister and her husband respectfully… (huggles)

July 22, 2005

Turqouise jewelry is very appropriate around here, the Indians use it with silver jewelry and it can be quite expensive. I like it and I know you will too. Your sister wanted you to have it and it is nice she made her wishes known. Hugs and love. r