Update

  • Wednesday evening I made yet another trip to the Emergency Room and then on to the hospital for a couple of days of not eating and little sleep. {The Kindle has saved my sanity on these nights when I was unable to sleep.] It was the same-old same-old, a bowel obstruction. At the moments there are two theories about this. During this next week I have appointments with a surgeon to discuss adhesions and the removal thereof, and an oncologist to discuss cancer {which if it is cancer would be cancer #3 for me}. At this point there is definitely something causing this problem. So, the next step is to find out what it is.
  • This idea of perhaps yet another bout with cancer has, I must admit, given me a couple of crying breakdowns. Jake has been extraordinarily empathic and helpful. I am back to trying to remind myself that "sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof."
  • While I was away in hospital having fun eating jello and chicken broth, Jake set up my Sennheiser wireless earphones for my TV, and today I am using them a lot. One interesting thing is that now I can watch TV without closed captions and the volume set much lower than I have had it heretofore and actually understand what is being said. What amazed me today was that on one scene I was watching, a character in the background let her bike go downhill without peddling, and I could actually hear the clicking when this was happening….
  • One thing I did do this morning was to pay all my bills–well, except for the rent which I had already paid.
  • I am in the process of make a list of things that need to be done Notice this doesn’t say "done today!" The list has on it so far "clean up smalls stacks of ‘stuff ‘ ", "sort out paintings and put them up" and "figure out automatic bill paying!" The small stacks of "stuff" are things like the basket on top of the bookshelf outside the bathroom which contains miscellaneous things that need to find a home. The second one on the list is to collect up all the photographs and paintings propped up against various walls and first decide which goes in what group and on what wall and then get them up on that wall. The last one {so far} is something I have been putting off for a long time. Fred had all our utilities paid automatically which, I will confess made me a trifle nervous. I need to be told what I owe first and then choose to pay it automatically. I am pretty sure this can be done, right? {Tell me yes!!!}
  • OK, I am off to first start the dishwasher and then put away the soup I didn’t finish for lunch so I can include it with whatever I have to eat in three hours. {When I asked was there anything I could eat or not eat to help avoid this bowel problem the answer was to eat a small amount of whatever I wanted to every three hours or so.}

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

If not me, then who?

If not now, then when?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 15, 2013

*HUGS* Will have you in my thoughts Patrisha! And I agree with you on being nervous about automatic payments. I only have a couple things that are fixed amounts that have automatic payment. Otherwise I am hyper aware of bills coming in that are due!

I’m hoping this is something else and not cancer. ((((Hugs)))) I have no idea of the automatic bill paying. I pay bills online through the bank, but am hesitant to make anything automatic.

September 15, 2013

I hope it’s something that’s easily solveable. I think Thorn needs some of those headphones. He keeps turning the sound up on the TV so loud I can hardly stand it!

September 15, 2013

(huggles)

September 16, 2013

Hope the news will be good.

I’m so sorry you are having health troubles….hope things will get resolved. I pay all my bills automatically through my bank. It makes things so much easier not having to write out checks and also saves on postage and the chance of missing a bill and having late charges added. I get a monthly statement for these bills with all the charges laid out usually two weeks before payment is due. If there is any problem it can be easily taken care of…been doing this for over ten years with no problems..

September 16, 2013

i only have a couple of things that are paid automatically. i would rather pay by check. these have to be paid automatically in order to get a reduced rate. prayers that you do NOT have a 3rd bout of cancer. take care,

September 16, 2013

I hope all this is something minor and easily fixable. I am so sorry you are having such a terrible time.