Update & Some Introspection

Ok, updates:

  • I woke up with very little pain this morning. Instead of absolute agony when my right foot hit the ground, there was a mild discomfort and with the aid of a pain pill, this has subsided to the sort of dull pain/discomfort you have when you have bumped yourself and the bruise is coming up. {I am SO fortunate that I respond very well to cortisone. For some people with sciatica, cortisone does nothing.}
  • I was supposed to have a 9AM appointment tomorrow morning to discuss the results of my colonoscopy. Since I am not having a colonoscopy until the 15th of this month, the appointment has been rescheduled. 
  • After the rescheduling of this appointment, I looked more closely at the appointment card I had been given and noticed that the time was 7 PM! Really? This seemed rather odd to me so I have a phone call in requesting clarification of this. Just got a call. It is 7 AM not PM! 

Since I am in a waiting period right now before I can find out what the problem is, I realize I am doing what my sister was doing when she was waiting to hear the status of the cancer that eventually killed her. I, like her, am watching "comforting" TV programs like "Midsomer Murder."

This is {or was?} a BBC series of "cosy" mysteries where the setting is an imaginary shire of Midsomer where all the villages seem to have doubled-barreled names like Midsomer Parva {mind you, there actually ARE a lot of villages like this in England } and most of the villagers live in cosy little thatched-roof cottages! There is always a village gossip and people go off to lovely picnics with champagne and brie and crackers in beautiful areas in England where the sun is always shining!

I am finding it a big reliever of stress to be looking at things that are familiar and restful. Not that I lived in the English countryside most of my life there. Actually, I was definitely a city person but My sister DID live in the very pretty, mostly rural Somerset area in the south of England. What says "home" to me in this series is, I have been rather amused to discover, is the background bird noises! I am NOT a birding person, although both my sister and brother-in-law were, so I can’t actually name the birds I am hearing– well, with the exception of the cuckoo–but what I hear in the background says "home" to me. Also, this program is also full of pretty English gardens  which I also like even though I am not much of a gardener myself!

OK, I have got to get off here and send all this change in information re taking me places to Jake in an email so he can put it all into his phone calendar! {He is a child of the computer age unlike me who writes things I want to remember on 3 x 5 cards!}

"Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof." from the Sermon on the Mount in the Gospel of Matthew — Matthew 6:34

 

Try not to resist the changes that come your way. Instead let life live through you. And do not worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come?

– Jalaluddin Rumi

 

 

If not me, then who?

If not now, then when?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 1, 2013

i’m glad you are feeling better. good thing you called about the time of that appointment. i put things in my phone. i’d be lost without my phone and it’s reminders. take care,

October 1, 2013

I love the Midsommer Murders. And Rosemary and Thyme. Best stuff on TV.

I have yet to watch Midsomer Murders, but I rented Rosemary and Thyme from our library and loved it. It has gardens galore. I’m glad the cortisone helps.

So glad that the cortisone is helping. It can be some nasty stuff, but also good. I’m also very glad that your colonoscopy is at 7AM and not pm. That would have made for a VERY long day!!!! Hugs,M

RYN: I am laughing SO hard at your note right now. That seriously just made my day!!! 🙂

October 1, 2013

I am glad that the cortisone helped and that you are feeling a bit better.

October 1, 2013

Definitely watch those programmes that keep you feeling happy and less stressful! And that the pain diminished on the sciatica. What scares me about the sciatica is the fear of falling and hurting myself, as my right side locks up badly.

October 1, 2013

I love all those types of mystery series – though characters are killed off, it is much more civilized than watching US detective shows, and the characters aren’t the perfectly tanned / white-smiled untouchables that you see here. Interesting to note that you hear such a difference in bird sounds on TV, though I guess that would make sense. I find myself concentrating very hard on the conversations because of the accents, so some of the background noise is lost.

I’m still writing notes everyday…post it’s are my choice paper these days.

Thank you so for your notes with all the turmoil I have been going through. Mindless comedies do wonders to take my mind off my troubles. The Internet archive is home to thousands of public domain movies. Here is a link to a favourite of mine. Broadway Limited from 1941. Try it out to see if it can help you….I’m just about to pull up a Charlie Chan film…Daggy would always join me on the bed for “movie night” as the only place to view these is my computer screen located in the bedroom. http://archive.org/details/BroadwayLimited