A Little More Introspection

As I approach my eightieth birthday–next May–I notice I am getting more and more like Fred. Recently, I bought some sweat pants and these days I am wearing T-shirts and sweat pants every day as he did. I am, as yet, not an expert in this since I don’t have pockets! He HAD to have pockets! I can see the value of these since, until I got a Big Idea, I was struggling with where to put my cell phone! {And no, I haven’t as yet vomited on it or left it in the car or the pocket of a coat I seldom wear! } The said Big Idea was to use an over-the-shoulder-strapped little padded bag which I first bought for my Kindle. I used to walk regularly back then and one place I went to a lot was a cute little park where I would sit and read the Kindle. These days I have the cell phone in the front pocket but I am still putting the Kindle in the bigger pocket. and thus, everywhere I go around the apartment , the Kindle and the cell phone go with me. Another way I am being like Fred is that although I wake up at my usual six-ish, I don’t get up, and if I can’t go back to sleep, I read. It is now 11:30 and I have just finished breakfast. Fred used to get up at about 11 am and usually by then I had been up for hours and pretty well broken the back of whatever the job-for-the-day was!

I was aggravated a bit yesterday to realize that the pain in my foot was coming back. It is more like an burn/ache across the top of my foot and it is definitely there this morning since I cannot tie the shoelaces on my right foot without acerbating it. It is not a severe pain. It does not, to compare it with the previous pain, cause me to suck breath and yelp inadvertently when the foot is used; however, it is annoying and a bit of a let down after a couple of painless days. BUT<—{this is an important "but"} although I feel it a bit when I first start to walk, it diminishes as I move. SO <— also an important word here} I am moving about a bit more than I used to be.

Before all this cancer or not cancer I am dealing with now, I very rarely read during the day at all. Now, I am comforted by having the Kindle with me wherever I am and I read so I don’t worry. When I was a child, and especially when I was a teenager, I read constantly to avoid what was going on in my very not-normal life back then. I can remember being the only person in my boarding school being unhappy when holidays came and we had to leave to go home for a couple of weeks. And I also remember being excited when it was time to be going back! In the boarding school, I didn’t have to make an effort to be "invisible." No one shouted at me or slapped me suddenly across the face, or, the most important part, no one "hid" alcohol around the house and sipped on it all day. That was my mother.

My father was a good man but although I knew he was very proud if me for being such a good student, as I got older, there were no more hugs and kisses especially in public. Apparently it was fine to hug and kiss your little daughter in public but totally taboo when she looked like a woman. Incidentally, I was 12 when I was told this. In other words, as I interpreted it then, what other people thought about him as a policeman was more important that showing love to his older daughter… Well, that is how *I* interpreted it at that time. I can see now that there was most likely MUCH more to it than that. Anyway, I can accept now that as well as being proud of me, he also loved me. Anyway, to go back to the original point, right now in this limbo of waiting, I am helped a lot by reading. What I choose to read these days is deliberately light, "fluffy" stuff. I don’t want to have to think about anything so mostly what I am reading are mysteries I have read before. Mostly I can remember who-dun-it but that doesn’t matter. When I am reading, I am not wondering if I DO have cancer and frantically planning how to deal with it if I do!

OK, I have finished my cereal so time to go and get my coffee from the kitchen.

 

 Try not to resist the changes that come your way. Instead let life live through you. And do not worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come?

– Jalaluddin Rumi

 If not me, then who?

If not now, then when?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2013

I just unearthed my Kindle from a now unpacked box, and I am quite excited about the prospect of getting some new books to read that are not nursing related. And to be truthful, when I found it I did smile & thought of you, as you always speak of the Kindle and lead me in the direction of purchasing one.

October 3, 2013

Just saw you on the front page! Hope it’s not cancer. Try not to worry, though I know it will be hard not to.

October 3, 2013

I was thinking about you yesterday and how some of your recent entries seem to center around “I have cancer and it will kill me” — not in those exact words, but I realized how frightening this must be for you. I wish those doctors would hurry up and do what they need to do. I can’t imagine waiting and waiting like this. My thoughts are with you. (((Hugs)))

October 3, 2013

Glad you are reading more. I am lacking any impulse to read, which makes me sad as I do love to read and used to all the time. always had a book on me when I was living in NYC! *HUGS*

Oh, pockets are so handy, especially if you use a cane. Your over-the-shoulder bag is a neat solution.

October 3, 2013

I didn’t realize how unhappy your childhood was and I am so sorry. My dad was a good man but not demonstrative. I don’t remember ever being hugged or kissed by him.

October 3, 2013

The shoulder bag is a great idea. I put my kindle and my phone into my purse every time I leave the house (even if I’m only going for five minutes) so that I’ll have them if I need them… but at home they get carted around from room to room and I can never remember where I left them last – good thing we only HAVE three rooms to look in because I never take them into the bathroom (huggles)

October 3, 2013

PS. Read away! It’s a great distraction to have some nice light reading material at your fingertips… you can lose yourself in the world of ‘happy ever after’ (or at least ‘you know they’ll catch the bad guy in the end’ since you like mysteries).

October 3, 2013

I keep you in my thoughts. I’m a terrible “waiter.” All my best.

October 3, 2013

When I went to my psychologist a few years ago she told me to just PAINT!!!!!!! I haven’t but probably should. It helps to stop thinking. Glad the reading does it for you.

I hope you get an answer soon on your health, and I hope it is positive news. People love their Kindles…I think I might be the only person on the planet that still reads actual books! Happy Friday:)

Reading is always an outlet for me to quiet my mind. When I just can’t think about it a moment longer, I read. Transported.

October 4, 2013

that’s one of the reasons i read so much…. to keep from thinking. and it’s the reason i won’t read non fiction. i don’t want to have to think so i read fiction. mostly fantasy. prayers for you. take care,

October 4, 2013

I am so sorry that you don’t know if you have cancer or not. The not knowing would be extremely hard. I’m glad you are able to find comfort through reading. Yes, I would imagine it takes your mind off of the what if’s. I hope you do not have cancer.

October 4, 2013

I am so sorry that you don’t know if you have cancer or not. The not knowing would be extremely hard. I’m glad you are able to find comfort through reading. Yes, I would imagine it takes your mind off of the what if’s. I hope you do not have cancer.

October 4, 2013

I am so sorry that you don’t know if you have cancer or not. The not knowing would be extremely hard. I’m glad you are able to find comfort through reading. Yes, I would imagine it takes your mind off of the what if’s. I hope you do not have cancer.

October 5, 2013

I try to read as much as I can and knit and cook and live a full life, I have glaucoma and my vision is fading.