More Down than Up.

  • One of the things I do that I really shouldn’t do is hit "random in this diary" the "this" part being my own diary. I used to enjoy it. Now I am feeling a sadness that Fred is gone and I tend to feel I will never enjoy good health again.
  • Of course, the damned sciatica in back again just as I am finishing up day 5, the last day of the medication. I take back everything pleasant I said about cortisone. It is a fair-weather friend. But, since I am being truthful here {which actually means I don’t tell ALL the truth but what I DO tell is true,} although I am still in pain, it is a very small pain compared to the pain I was in previously.
  • Today I need to sort out how to take That Awful Stuff for the Big Cleanout  before the colonoscopy on the 15th. You may remember that the oncologist wrote me a prescription for that stuff which was supposed to help me not throw up, albeit to not be actually pleasant, but I was happy to be told I wouldn’t barf along with the pooping? Well, Medicare doesn’t cover it. It costs $100! So, I got the everyday one which is about $10. One thing I do know is that because my appointment is at 7 am, I will have to set a timer to be up and swigging it in the small hours… It is somewhat of a consolation to know that this is a one-off, not something I will be taking every day. I can do anything when I know when it is over quickly…
  • More Cheerful Things follow.
  • I had an order in to Amazon which was supposed to be here today. It was delivered yesterday which was an unexpected surprise. Unfortunately, the things I bought were necessities rather than happy makers but one takes one’s happy things where they fall, right?
  • I am reading a freebee book I got from Amazon. It is not great but it is an easy read which is what I need at this time. The other book I am reading is Man’s Search for Meaning  by Viktor Frankl which is very readable but NOT  an easy read. Normally, I read maybe two mental-fluff books and one that requires some thinking. Theses days, the mental fluff is taking over the reading time…

 

 

If not me, then who?

If not now, then when?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 5, 2013

I saw you at the top of the front page! We are on at the same time, it seems. I sure hope the colonoscopy goes well and that the cleaning out process is tolerable, all things considered.

October 5, 2013

I’ve had several colonoscopies. The preparation never really bothered me. What did they give you to drink? Once my hubby had a huge bottle but the next time we got pills and just a small bottle which we put in the fridge and mixed with ginger ale. Good luck.

October 5, 2013

I’ve had several colonoscopies. The preparation never really bothered me. What did they give you to drink? Once my hubby had a huge bottle but the next time we got pills and just a small bottle which we put in the fridge and mixed with ginger ale. Good luck.

October 5, 2013

I’ve had several colonoscopies. The preparation never really bothered me. What did they give you to drink? Once my hubby had a huge bottle but the next time we got pills and just a small bottle which we put in the fridge and mixed with ginger ale. Good luck.

October 5, 2013

i’ve got to have a colonoscopy soon. not looking forward to it but know i need to do it. as well as a mammogram and pap. i’m wondering when i will decide to stop all those tests they say we need to have done? one day i will say no. take care,

October 5, 2013

*HUGS*.. I wish Fred was still here with you and that things were better..

October 5, 2013

So many of my faves are having colonoscopies. I have 7-8 more years until I have to have another one. The only thing that bothered me about my first one was the cost! Hope you have good luck with the medication and good results with the test!

How come they don’t have you drinking the prep the evening before. I’ve had crohns disease since 95, and my dr has ALWAYS had me drinking the prep by 7pm, which means I’m usually done by around 10ish. Hmmm…. BTW, what is the name of the med he has you on so you won’t throw up? I have a whole bottle of stuff they prescribed for Elton. It hasn’t been touched. Hugs,M

October 7, 2013

Many hugs. I hope that the sadness about Fred diminishes a little, and that you can press on with living (I know that sounds trite, and it’s not meant to be). We never do get over the loss of a loved one, but the acuteness of the pain does lessen. As to the health issue, oh I hear you — I have days like that too, and it’s a real fight even to get out of bed.

*hug*

October 8, 2013

I couldn’t read your latest entry.

Did you have some entries disappear? Or did you just make them private?

I hope the test went well and everything is OK. It looks like you haven’t written in awhile, so I hope all is well! 🙂