Nano 2012: Day 1

I started a pretty cool tradition six years ago when I first gave Nanowrimo a try and it’s pretty much stuck with me since. I would take my boys out for Halloween to fetch candy from door to door for a few hours, than after they get home and in bed I would clean up and get ready to start Nano at midnight. I would usually stay up and write for an hour or two before finally heading for bed. Since the separation, that tradition still goes on. I always take the kids out to trick or treat, give them back to their mother and still get home in time to tidy up and get ready for a writing fenzy at midnight. This year was no different.

After getting home from taking the boys out for halloween, I had something small to eat… and started writing when the clock struck midnight when National Novel Writing Month started. I wrote for five hours last night, not going to bed until 5am. I got off to a very good start, probably the best I’ve ever had. Check it out:

That felt good, having over 6000 words when I went to bed this morning. the first day is only half over and I’ve already written 13% of this year’s Nano! I’m very excited and am going to build on this momemtum. I’m hoping to finish day one with 10K. I’m happy with the progress I’ve made so far and plan to have a lot done by the time the kids come over tomorrow for the weekend.

Thanks to the notes left by friends here and on other social medias, I’ve signed up again for Movember, which means I will be growing a mustashe to raise money and awareness for charity. I am going to make an effort to sport a killer stashe this month, and any help I could get whether it be words of encouragement or a pledge, any help would be greatly apprecaited! Click on the picture below to go to my Movember profile:

photobucket

I want to let everyone know there is zero pressure to pledge. I know the holidays are just around the corner and there are many ways to help me out with my movember. Leave a note, offer suggestions on what kind of stashe you want me to grow… just hang around for the ride. Even that much will help a great deal.

So that’s my kickoff to what promises to be an interesting November. I hope everyone else is having a great week and I’ll be back tonight or later tomorrow to update again.

Peter

Log in to write a note
November 1, 2012

My vote is for the handlebar mustache with the curly ends.

November 1, 2012

Also…WOOO! First donation! Do I get a prize?

You wrote, “Just hang around for the ride.” The mustache ride you’ll be offering at the end of the month? Okay. Will do. Awesome job on NANO!

I know quite a few people who are doing it this year. Although their charity seems to be make a wish foundation?? I thought it was for cancer? (or did another charity hijack the idea)