Thirty-Seven…

Another year, another birthday.

Yesterday, in very quiet fashion… I turned thirty-seven. The big four oh is just around the corner.

I didn’t do anything for the big day yesterday. Funds are low and I have priorities such as rent, food, the kids for their weekends. So I stayed home, did some writing, cleaned up around the house and watched a cool concert streamed from a festival in Florida. It was pretty cool.

I didn’t mind the peace and quiet as it gave me time to reflect and also think about the future.

It was difficult to not be bummed out by my current situation, but at the same time I did realize that I take a lot of things for granted that a lot of people in the world don’t have. I always tell Ethan to be happy with what he has rather than pine and whine for what he doesn’t have. Yesterday I followed my own advice and was grateful for what I had rather than what I didn’t have.

I plan to prepare for this Thursday’s kickoff to Nanowrimo (also known as National Novel Writing Month) and I have a plan in place. Nothing written up early (which is not allowed) but I have an idea and character sketches set up and I’m ready to start November off right.

Speaking of November, I am considering doing Movember again this year. I raised a few bucks for a good cause last year… but only had a few pledges. If I were to try again, would anyone from here donate this year? Just taking a poll to see if it’s worth a go again. I shaved today so if I get enough push, I will grow another fearsome stashe.

So that’s it for today, everyone have a safe and dry Monday!

Peter

Log in to write a note
October 29, 2012

Happy Birthday!!

October 29, 2012

I plan on very quietly turning each new year with as little fanfare as possible. Also, Merry belated Christmas!

October 29, 2012

Happy birthday. I’ll donate. 🙂