A foot in the door

🙏🙏🙏

So, I got an interview. I’m quite excited about it, yet nervous. Lemme tell ya, getting into this company has been a pain in the ass for real. I’ve heard it’s hard to get into, and they weren’t lying lol. I have tried so many times, and go so many no’s that I gave up applying for them. Recently (and I had gotten a ‘no’ a few months prior for a CSR position) I was contacted directly by their recruiter who felt I’d be a good fit for a FSR role. Yet, after waiting a few days to hear back I get that dreaded rejection email. I swore this company off for good. Then not even more than a couple days later, I get contacted by two different staffing agencies that found me on indeed (for the same position I was just denied for btw) who also felt I’d be a good fit for the role based on my resume. I figured, why not haha. Well long story short, I ended up finally getting an interview with this company, thanks to them reaching out on my behalf. Now it’s a 6 month contract job, and it would start march 25 I believe, but it’s a foot in the door. This could be extended, or I could be hired, either way I got my chance. So my interview is tomorrow afternoon at 4, so I’ve been preparing myself for it. Doing research on the company as well as getting my questions ready that I wanna ask them. Good thing about this is, they are literally up the street from where I live. Now due to it being contract I’d get a fraction of what the role actually pays when hired directly, but it’s within the pay rate I’d hope to get anyway so I am happy and ok with that. I will be praying more about this prior to the interview, and after for that matter. I pray this time is my time, as I really do need this job, and what I’d be making will help me get back on my feet.  So I hope that my next entries include the news that I have the job and can officially celebrate and rejoice. I’m really grateful for this opportunity.

 

*EDIT*

Just once, I’d like for S to act happy when something good happens for me on the job front. Me getting a job helps everyone, including myself. As soon as I say I have an interview, he is like “well how will I get you there, or this or that” i did NOT ask you to take me to my interview. The only thing I asked was for him to take me to staples to get a copy of my resume printed for my interview tomorrow. I get that you’re having a shitty day, but damn you make me feel like shit for doing the one thing I know would help bring in money, and that’s finding a job. Sometimes that man irks my soul. Yeah most times I do have to rely on him for rides (especially when I don’t have money to uber or bus), but I take into consideration his work schedule (and how it varies). It’s not like I knew he was going to be stuck at work for longer than expected, I only asked for him to take me to get my resume. He’s all, well why didn’t you tell me your interview was tomorrow. UH because they JUST FUCKING TOLD ME! I never once expected him to take me to my interview, if anything I’d rather uber cause he has a tendency to make me late and I CANNOT be late for this interview. If he can’t help me with uber fare, then I will use my credit card. Either way I am going. He automatically assumes I’ll need him for something and starts bitching about how it’s gonna be done. I then have to sit and wait for his dumb ass rant, to tell him I got this. SMH….man can’t handle stresses for shit and this is why I hate asking him for things. I could just walk up to the library, but I actually wanted to print this on real resume paper, and also I have no money on my library card for printing anyway. I should have already had it printed out, I just wasn’t thinking. I knew the interview would be this week, but it ended up being tomorrow. Who am I to say no to that? I know he’ll calm down, and hell staples doesn’t close until 9, so hopefully I can get that done today. If not, I’ll be taking my happy ass up to the library and just getting a regular paper copy. His problem is he tries to figure everything out himself, without seeing what I already have planned. I just know, I’m not gonna let him screw this up for me. 

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2020

He sounds so unsupportive, I’m sorry.

March 2, 2020

Good luck with the job interview. I hope you get it. I’m sorry about S, that sounds extremely frustrating to deal with. I’m not sure what he expects you to do differently.