Aftermath of grandma

the aftermath of grandma 

So Monday I took the kids, with grandma to do some shopping. I should have known better, but I didn’t have much of a choice. Trinity-Vee and I needed new glasses my mom had my money and thought it would be a fun idea to come along. NEVER EVER AGIN!!!!!!! if there was even the slightest chance to undermine me she did. if there was even the slightest chance to make me look like a “Momster” she did. I said “no” she would say “why” id say “because I said so” she’d tell me that’s not good enough so I finally told her…..

I spent over 300$ on new glasses, paid mortgage on my house I had to replace a lot of Trinity-Vee ( yes that’s my youngest name) clothing I simply do not have the money; and even if I did it would still be NO because my daughter knows throwing a fit is not okay and that sometimes NO is something you will hear in life and have to be okay with.

So according to my mother I am mean. I surprisingly am not okay with that, and that in its self really bugs me.

I work my ass off to be a good mom. I take care of not only my kids and my family I take care of my sisters kids. I deal with 2 different baby daddies that are not mine! I don’t just buy for 1 boy but two not just 1 girl but 2. I have not gotten my hair done in any shape or form in 2 years! I have not bought myself a new pair of shoes or pants in over 2 years! hell I wouldn’t have even gotten myself a new pair of glasses if it wasn’t for the fact that my prescription changed. but yet I am a mean mom because I said NO! I am a mean mom because I refuse to raise a entitled little shit. I am a mean mom because I am broke after spending money on the necessities. still she is worried that I am a mean mom when her other daughter refuses to be a mom at all!

So no no no I will never take my mother to the store with my kids ever again. today they are being unbearably bratty. I have been called mean mommy no less then 5 times. I have been told “but grandma said” no more then 8 times. today has been a challenge that I’m so glad is almost  over.

 

Log in to write a note
March 6, 2018

“No” is the most powerful word in the English language, and kudos to you for insisting that your children learn early how to deal with it!

March 8, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm thank you:)

March 6, 2018

I’m learning how to be a ‘quiet’ grandma here today. Thanks.

March 8, 2018
March 6, 2018

This is the first entry of your that I have read, but I want to comment anyway. You are NOT mean! You are realistic. I am now a grandma, but I still remember being a mom, and I know that you need to be the one in charge. Kids need to have limits, and they will take anything they can get. Hang tough, girl! -13D

March 8, 2018

@thirteendogs I just want to say thank you for the support. I’m trying to reply to these notes to let the people who take time to write them that I see and appreciate them. hopefully you have a wonderful day.