Random facts about yourself

I saw somebody else doing this, listing twenty random facts about yourself – that seems like fun, so here goes.

  1. I have wide feet.
  2. I have played and DM’d a LOT of Dungeons & Dragons in my life.
  3. But hour-wise, I spent more time playing hex-based wargames like Blitzkrieg and War in the West.
  4. My reading tends to be historical non-fiction.
  5. I wanted to be an oceanographer when I grew up (based on watching a lot of Jacques Cousteau).
  6. Or a hockey player (that was short-lived, my sports capabilities are pretty limited).
  7. I don’t like peas. At all.
  8. The only job I was ever fired from was working as an assistant for a wedding photographer (story for another time).
  9. I can type pretty fast.
  10. Maps fascinate me, especially old maps.
  11. I have an ancestor named William Godolphin, Warden of the Stannaries (which sounds like something from Game of Thrones).
  12. I stopped watching Game of Thrones after the Hodor episode, I really should start again.
  13. I coded the first gem inventory management system for Tiffany & Co., a million years ago.
  14. I grew up on a lake.
  15. I’m pretty good at sailing and fishing, never got good at hockey (see #6 above).
  16. I like prime numbers, and numbers that are divisible by three.
  17. The only bone I’ve ever broken is my nose.
  18. But I have tried to remove my digits a few times with power tools (by accident).
  19. I still have all the parts I was born with, except my appendix.
  20. I’m a bit colorblind, for certain colors.

 

Log in to write a note
August 21, 2018

I also like numbers divisible by 3. I feel a little less weird now.

August 22, 2018

@alika there’s nothing weird about that 🙂

L
August 21, 2018

I played a bit of D&D myself back in the good old days. World of Warcraft also. This was a cool list of things about you.

August 22, 2018

@ladyhawk_1 that’s cool, it’s always good to meet other D&D players 🙂

August 21, 2018

Glad the hockey thing didn’t work out. We wouldn’t have OD if it did. 🙂

August 22, 2018

@soldis there was never a chance, I’m no good at skating!

August 21, 2018

Interesting facts.

Working on a gem management system sounds very interesting.

August 22, 2018

@justamillennial it was – it replaced handwritten ledgers that had been used for over a hundred years, which was cool.

August 21, 2018

Ineresting…. Pretty soon we will know as much about you as your wife does.

August 22, 2018

@jaythesmartone not likely!

August 21, 2018

Interesting. I will consider playing. 🙂

August 22, 2018

@startingover_1 good, you might like it 🙂

August 21, 2018

Hey we have 1,2, 9, 10, and 16 in common. Cool 🙂 <3

August 22, 2018

@jazmynroez cool!

August 21, 2018

It’s interesting.  I’ll have to think about it and see if I will follow suit.

August 22, 2018

@dlk082244 glad you liked it!

August 21, 2018

cool.

 

August 22, 2018

@jeanne thanks!

August 21, 2018

This is a fun idea

August 22, 2018

@cherrywine_1 glad you like it!

August 21, 2018

i miss the old open diary. i’ve only been back a short time, so maybe i’m missing something. but i want a random button again. i wanna be able to pick out my own colors. i want to see people’s interests. i want to follow them without having to friend them. is there a way to do any of that? sorry to be that basic old school bitch.

August 22, 2018

@tideland no worries on being old school – when we rebuilt the site, we wanted to see what features people really wanted before we started adding things back on, so I appreciate your input. You will be seeing some of those things appear in the future, for sure. Thanks!

August 22, 2018

One summer holiday road trip when I was about 12, I used a calculator and keyed in 12345678 (as many numbers as it would allow), then divided by 2 (because of course it’s an even number), then divided by 3 (because the last digit of the previous answer was divisible by 3), then once more by 3 for the same reason.  At that point, I spend many a kilometre figuring out that 47 was the next number that would go evenly into the previous answer …. resulting in …. 14,593 … hundreds of kilometres later, I was 99% sure that I had found my very own prime number, which it still is to this day, some 40-odd years later:)

So awesome to read your list!!

August 22, 2018

@teamarea wow that’s amazing!

August 22, 2018

It was fun and interesting learning more about you.

I may try this, too, if I can think of 20 things about me!

August 22, 2018

@gypsywynd I have to say, I wasn’t able to just spit out 20 facts, I had to think for a bit!

August 23, 2018

only certain colors?  well that’s interesting

peas are actually one of my favorite vegetables.  so much protein!

August 23, 2018

@dellusion yep just certain greens, browns, grays, that part of the spectrum – can’t tell them apart.

August 23, 2018

I was never cool enough to play D&D, but my fiance is bound and determined to get me into tabletop RPG!

August 24, 2018

@rella try it, you’ll like it 🙂

August 23, 2018

So you didn’t see how last season of Game of Thrones ended?  You HAVE to see it!!

I may have to do this type of entry.  🙂

August 24, 2018

@drama I know! I will for sure (sometime)!

August 24, 2018

I will have to steal this lol

August 24, 2018

hummmmm

August 26, 2018

Interesting. I’d have to think long and hard about 20 facts about me

August 27, 2018

I’m with you on the broken nose. I dove into the shallow end of a swimming pool when I was a teenager. You?

August 27, 2018

@zinnia I broke it skiing in a slalom race, wiped out and hit the bridge of my nose on the top of my (firmly planted) ski pole.

August 28, 2018