Never will I forget you, and all the memories past.

 

Today. Twenty years since Weldon Linscomb left this world. He was my first best friend, and the one who began to get me out of my shell. It’s unbelievable that its been this long since I last saw him. I still remember every memory, every small detail and our time spent together, and the smell of Hushpuppy. I can sometimes still remember his voice and every song that played on our soundtrack. I remember those hugs and the goodbyes that almost never wanted to end and yet we both had to say goodbye.. forever. I remember the way I felt when I knew he was really gone. Sometimes I wish I could change things, and have him in my life, but things happen for a reason. I remember asking God to let me say goodbye that evening I knew the worst was to come. Six hours later I got the call that he had passed around the time I prayed. I could go on about all the things we shared and do as I have for the past several years but I’ll just leave this here. A Polaroid that is the most valuable and sentimental thing I own, and bear that he gave me I think for my birthday.

I miss you Weldon. Thank you for being my shooting star, and saying hello in your weird ways and most of all thank you for visiting me in my dreams and being my first true best friend. I promised I would never forget you and for so long that my mind allows it I’ll remember you until the end.

 
Never will I forget you, and all the memories past.
So rarely I get to see your face.
Growing I looked to you in guidance.
We knew that time would kill us, but you’re still so close to me.
To me you were my life.
To me you were my soul companion.
Now you are so far away.
Nothing can take away the time and the memories we had.
Come back, to the days when we were young
Come back, to the days when nothing mattered
To the days when nothing mattered
Log in to write a note
April 30, 2018

What a heartfelt and lovely tribute to your best friend Weldon.  I’m glad he was in your life because it sounds like he gave so very much of himself to you and that he wanted only the very best for you too.  Some men come into our lives and change who we are for the better.  Do you know what that makes us?  Blessed.  Oh so very blessed because not everyone gets to experience that.