Exercise and A Mild Hooking Incident

I never thought I’d be the type of person who could spend three hours at a gym but I guess anything is possible in this world. Reed had his appointment with K this morning at 9:00 am so we went to the gym together. Because of all the New Year resolutioners the gym was busy and people were all up in the way of everything, so I started on the elliptical. There’s nothing gym people hate more than cardio. Once a path cleared I started my weight training workout, made a little harder by K yesterday. I followed it up with more time on the elliptical and a nice hydro massage. Reed had already finished by the time I got around to the hydro massage and was nice enough to wait for me.

I was hungry after the gym so we went to Elmer’s Restaurant and I had a delicious chicken, bacon, broccoli omelet with hollandaise, and some hashbrowns. It was nice to be out and about, at a restaurant having some nice comfort brunch after a heavy workout. After we ate I walked home from Elmer’s to work off the food I’d just eaten and came home to start on housekeeping. Reed went upstairs to ‘put up a shelf’ for four hours, which turned out to be mostly napping. I listened to the last half of A Night To Remember on audiobook as I did dishes and cleaned the kitchen.

I was going to have Reed put up some hooks over the kitchen window for me to hang mugs from, but for some reason, he thought I said ‘oven mitts’ so he got small, unhelpful hooks and had to go back to the store. Once he returned he couldn’t get the new bigger hooks to go into the wall the way he wanted it seems. Then he bumped his head on the light fixture above the sink, almost fell off the counter, had a mild panic attack, and had to go to his room to calm down. I told him I could live without the hooks.

I made myself a high-protein dinner, went for another walk, and started listening to The Loss of the SS Titanic by Lawrence Beasley. Reed had recovered from his harrowing hooking mishap and had some hotdogs and watched Baking It! with me until bedtime.

Overall, not too bad a day. I didn’t get much cleaning done, and I have a lot to do tomorrow. I drank 4 diet cokes with brunch and they affected me much like coffee so I guess I need to be careful with my caffeine intake now. Feeling pretty good all around, though.

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2023

cute cats

January 3, 2023

@ihavenoarms thank you!