Part One of my MV


I just came back from my trip to Cedar Park, Texas to do part one of my music video. It was an absolute blast, and a memory that will last forever! I am so forever grateful!
My parents drove me there, which took about 3 hours and 25 minutes to get there. My mom always sits in the backseat, so I sat in the passenger seat. My dad drove, and he talked the entire time. I never met a man who can talk non stop like he can. My dad counted every McDonald’s he saw on the way there, and commented on how beautiful each and every little thing was from the trees, cattle, and blue bonnets along the dirt road. I love my dad, but I actually got a terrible headache from the incessant talking. I don’t think it was all him; I’m sure it was a mixture of nerves as well. However, we all arrived safe and on time to set.
When my parents dropped me off, I was greeted by a lovely woman named Sarah. She was the main cinematographer that I hired for part one of my music video. Sarah already had headache medicine waiting for me, and she led me to the master bathroom. Shortly afterwards, another lovely woman named Stormie arrived, who was my makeup artist for the day. I went over the outfits, jewelry, shoes, and entire concept of how I wanted to appear in the video.
I had Stormie create a gothic look, with deep black and burgundy tones to go with a sheer dress I was wearing. This look just so happened to be Stormie’s forte because she worked with a heavy metal band and worked on films that had haunting themes. She was an absolute pro.
I happened to be Sarah’s first artist/actress that she’s ever worked with for a music video. Sarah is more so a photographer, so in the beginning, she had a bit of a rocky start with figuring out her camera angles and lighting. I sensed this and immediately understood why my shoot wasn’t as expensive as it would have been if she were more experienced. Because I worked on sets, I was able to direct her on how to film me with the camera. And with us working together, I think we both managed to do a fantastic job. One thing I really appreciated about Sarah is how she showed me every take. Most cinematographers never show their work, but Sarah was eager to know if I was pleased with her work.
Not long after my behind the scenes videographer showed up on time to set. She definitely was a seasoned videographer. She had a very strong personality that took charge, and help the other Sarah boost her confidence in her videography skills.
Although I was only able to pay the makeup artist $200, she stayed the entire shoot and did not expect a penny more. Because of this, I want to pay her back in the future. I saw her ultimate dedication to me, and she definitely encouraged me every moment she could. I felt like a sisterly/motherly vibe from her. In fact, all of the women all strived to do their absolute best.
There was one moment I think I cried alone in the bathroom because I was just so impressed with everyone that I hired. I was so grateful that God brought all of these wonderful souls into my life. I felt so much love and the spirit of women empowerment.
When it all ended, the cinematographer, Sarah, let me take a warm shower in her master bathroom. The shower was immaculate. The ceiling was so high in her bathroom, and she had all the most expensive beauty products. I know this because I can only afford the sample sizes, and I knew the brands. I used Kevin Murphy conditioner, Ojai shampoo, and Biosannce face serum. Her shower had jets coming from all angles, and I felt like I was showering in a waterfall. I feel so blessed and entirely grateful for the experience.
My parents picked me up from set around 10:30pm. I rented a three bedroom Airbnb home for all of us to sleep in. God is so good because the rental only cost me $144 for the night. My parents gave me the master bedroom, and bought me a subway sandwich with chips for dinner.
We all slept and in the morning, they bought me a McDonald’s breakfast meal, and we all ate together. Then, we packed and headed out around 10am. We had a nice drive home, and they treated me again for dinner. I was definitely spoiled the entire trip.
Words cannot express how happy I was to be able to work towards my dream. I was even more thrilled to be able to share that memory with my parents. It’s one of those days that make life so special.
I came home a few hours ago, and now I’m in bed. Just a second ago, I had a girl named Tia call me from London to tell me how much she is proud of me. I met her on a dating site a while back. I used to go on this dating site and perform my songs live to strangers.
Tia immediately asked me if I was able to quit smoking yet. I guess everyone knows about my battle with addiction to marijuana. I told her it’s been over a month since I smoked. Tia told me well done and how she’s still (& currently) smoking weed. She then blasted my latest song on YouTube in the background, and she told me how much she loves my music. She had a friend singing drunk to my song in the background as she was talking to me excitedly. Now I’m back writing in my journal, even happier than before. I’m not sure what to do now. I just want to soak all of these good feelings in. I just had someone in London blasting my music and having a good time. That’s all I want, all of the time, all over the world.

“Jesus, I pray my music will be recognized all around the world. I hope I will also do films that will impact peoples’ lives. I pray I can take care of my parents. I pray my only career is being a boss who decides what to sing and when to tour. I also want to have so many options of what films I can be a part of. Let me never forget where I came from. Let me never forget this moment. These tears I cry now are only because I wish for moments like this to never end. I know You are working in my life and will have my perfect timing. Amen”

Log in to write a note
March 11, 2023

Wow!! What type of music do you sing?

March 11, 2023

@mattinykanenlover pop/soul, a little r&b, sometimes edm/house party music and an occasional soulful tune with just an acoustic guitar. Thank you for asking.

March 11, 2023

@bellesworld84 Love EDM!!! 🙂 Wow! 🙂

March 12, 2023

@mattinykanenlover me toooo😇

March 12, 2023

@bellesworld84 90’s EDM is the best! 🙂

March 13, 2023

@mattinykanenlover any artist or song suggestions?