Thursday Afternoon

                                                        This morning, two of the books that I ordered from Barnes & Noble arrived, via USPS. One was Loretta Lynn’s story. The other was Maureen McCormick’s story. This afternoon, after my caregiver left I took the bus downtown to the local library, to begin reading the book on Loretta Lynn. I spent about an hour at the library. Her story makes for pretty interesting reading. 

                                When I returned to the building, one of my friends was outside. He is the friend for whom I occasionally prepare a meal. He told me that he had stayed up late watching movies, last night and had just woken up. He appeared not to be doing very well. Sometimes, you really don’t know quite how to respond. He once mentioned that he liked westerns, so I asked him if the movies that he watched last night were westerns. The other morning, he was outside. He mentioned that he would love to have a cup of coffee. I offered to brew him a cup of coffee. I had bought styrofoam cups, so that was not an issue. I brought it outside to him, after I brewed it. I brought extra cream and sugar, in case the coffee that I prepared for him was not quite to his liking. He appreciated that, I am certain. 

                               More than once, where I live I have been deemed a “people pleaser”. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am not out to “please” anyone. I try to be kind. That is all. All of us need that, from time to time, myself included. I care about people. There is a difference.

Log in to write a note
July 14, 2022

You are a very kind woman. This is a good entry

July 14, 2022

@bear70 thank you

July 14, 2022

I met Mauren McCormick once. I was 18 and interviewed her for the local newspaper. She was around 16, I guess. She was a doll.

July 15, 2022

@solovoice That is awesome! 🙂

July 15, 2022

I loved reading Coal Miner’s Daughter.  Have you seen the movie of it?  If not you should after reading the book…it’s very good.

That was very nice of you to take him some coffee…very nice.

July 15, 2022

@happyathome Hello. I have in fact seen the movie about a dozen or more times. I loved it!

Jon
July 15, 2022

I’m sure your kindness goes a long way. I just hope that it will be returned to you in some fashion.

July 15, 2022

@kotila Hi. I asked my landlord to have the exterminator come today. Thank you for your note.