Me…The Child pt 1

So taking a break from my &*%# ‘ed marriage and adulthood I figured I would just take a trip down memory lane and write about me…

So I am black! Xhoas to be exact!

My mother…well her mother, who is actually my name sake, was a domestic worker for a Jewish family…anyway when she died my biologically mother became their domestic worker…or was the domestic worker for the son…

So I was born into a white Jewish family… And for some odd reason the daughter of the family my bio-mother worked for (she was in her 30’s at the time) fell in love with me and just included me in her life and her family. Everyone knew me and just took to me…apparently

Anyway so I am a few years old and my bio-mother decides to stop working for the son and instead work for the daughter. And when we were there she moved into the domestic worker’s room and I moved into the owners house and lived with them and their children. Whatever they did, I would to. To this day I call my bio-mom by her name and I call my ‘foster’ family mom and dad and their bio daughters sisters and to them I have always been and still am part of their family…I am the 3rd daughter that just spent too much time in the sun as a child 😉

So over the years when we used to say that I am their ‘foster’ child people would get confused so it is just easier to say that I am ‘adopted’ even though no papers were ever signed and in the court of law we have no actual relation.

So my story may seem weird and confusing to some people but it is just so normal to me….

Oh my Gosh! I remember this one time…about thirteen years ago…my older sister and I were driving in her car and her middle child was sitting in her booster seat and asked “Mommy…why is Aunty Black?” – my sister and I just looked at each other and burst out laughing because we had no answer for a 3 year old.

Back in the 90’s my sisters and I used to laugh so hard at the looks on people’s faces when we used to tell them we were sisters. Now you have got to picture the country in a state where it is just coming out of Apartheid, so blacks and whites never mixed or at least not publicly and these teenage white girls are holding a black child’s hand and they are saying they are sisters. And then they had to see me hug a white man in his 50’s.

Hee hee…wow I miss the 90’s…

Music was so much better then

Kids actually played in the street and physically as supposed to just virtually

Dreams were possible and now not so much

The world was cleaner and full of more love…at least my world was…

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2021

This was interesting! What country are you in? People on here talk AROUND themselves. I have no history showing here because I am trying to get a new account. You have a good rich sense of humor.

August 30, 2021

@skobru Hey! I am from South Africa. Thanks for the compliment. <3

August 30, 2021

@ncumisa It is good to encounter you. I am in USA, Michigan. I am white but my photo was made to look bronze because it looks better. Currently regrowing the beard back.One of my 2 birds likes to play with it 😉

August 30, 2021

“I am the 3rd daughter that just spent too much time in the sun as a child” – This. Is. HILARIOUS!  😁

Your memory of, “Why is Auntie Black?” makes me think of a short family anecdote where someone somewhere in my family, after seeing movies in black and white and then in color asked, “Grandma?  When did the world turn to color?”

There is no weird or confusing when things are put into context.  And this entry was exactly that.  So, thank you…good to meet you!  (Again)  🙂

I can’t imagine how insane Apartheid was…and that makes your anecdote about holding hands with your sister absolutely great.  😁

August 30, 2021

@tigerhawk  well I was born in 86 so thankfully then Apartheid was pretty much dying down. I was amongst the first generation that went to a white school. And I think because I grew up alot around a white community that felt no racism and were against it I guess I never really felt it until I was in school

August 30, 2021

You know we are getting old when we say “Music was so much better then.” lol. Oddly enough, I always end up listening to late 80s, early 90s music. It seems to make everything much better.

August 31, 2021

@cipher I think it more to do with the fact that music back then talked to you and told you a story. I suppose that is why I connect so much with American Country Music.

When you have just been dumped and you are feeling low….you can just put on Whitney Houston and ask “…where do broken hearts go, can they find their way home….to a love that’s waiting there” you can’t exactly put on Cardi B and cry your sorrow away while twerking… “….Wet Ass Pussy…yeah…yeah..yeah…”