Log in to write a note

The dancing on the side of the building was amazing. I love how you just walk around and talk to people & video tape everything. How was the food?

October 16, 2013

Sorry to bother you but I cannot post any entries – last time this happened I managed to get chrome to do it but now I can only post a title in the title box but no content – if you see this any have any idea let me know. thanks – my diary name is blocked

Hi. There is a diarist who has begun to harass me, and I was wondering what I can do about it? The rules and the box below notes clearly states that they can be banned, but I do not know what extent the harassment would have to get to for that. I have never spoken to this person [to my knowledge], so it’s completely random.

This is a great video. I’m glad you got it on before OD decided to give all the time out messages again on notes, left, trying to get to diaries, etc. I don’t want to put the DM down because I know he has to work for a living and has a family but I think it is about time he takes a few days of vacation and tend to his OD family and their home.

Spam diary! It’s been a while since I’ve found something new. Thanks, Eric! http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=E104153

Well, OD mysteriously logged me out while I was trying to save this note, but I’m gonna repost it un-signed in because I keep getting weird timeouts and stuff. Just wanted to report a spam diary I just saw. It’s been a while since I’ve found one of these. Thanks, Eric! http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=E104153 [Mayor of Nerdville]

October 17, 2013

This is the first time I’ve watched one of your videos and I really enjoyed it. I bet you have tons of fun doing videos like this.

October 17, 2013

Ig Bruce cannot or will not fix this place and keep it fixed, he must pay someone to do just that. He came here and “fixed” things and for a days everything worked. A few days later it was back to business as usual SNAFU. If not, OD will go the way of other sites, which were ignored by their creators. I know of a dozen ODers who are no longer ODers, because of the mess it has become.

October 17, 2013

The DM should spend some money and pay somebody to keep the site running. It would be such a shame to see it die. It’s a grand place and there isn’t anything like it out there on the web. I might completely understand if he wasn’t still taking money for diaries ..he’s still getting paid, so provide a service that works. I don’t understand why he won’t let you make the improvements that need doing. It doesn’t makes sense to me why somebody who created a place like OD would let it go to hell …very sad. I had a hard time customizing …nothing is working anymore. Come on Bruce …do your job. Please. Thanks Eric for caring …I love your videos by the way! …………..

I love to see you having fun.

October 18, 2013

I never thought I’d have to bitch, but something untoward has happened. Ads started showing up on my diary and words started being double underlined and colored red. I have no idea what’s causing the latter, but definitely new and weird. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,

Your video made me smile 🙂 What a cool event!

if you don’t care enough about this place to keep it going, at least give it over to someone who does….. a lot of us have YEARS worth of entries here, and we don’t want to lose them. PLEASE FIX THIS SITE!

I cannot get into the diaries on my bookmarked list most of the time or into the notes left for me. I am always getting time out messages. I tried to get into here once today and lucked out this time. I keep hoping that some of the downtime is because Bruce is doing some programing to fix what ever is happening. But then again I’m afraid I am wrong.

Pretty cool in the famed St. Louis! Loved seeing the energetic and talented dancers. I want to try food truck food!

October 20, 2013

I’m having the same problem as blocked, and even when I reset the editor, it does nothing. PLEASE HELP!!! I NEED to update my friends on my life. I’m a writer after all…

OD is dragging. crashing. can’t leave notes on some of my friends diaries. what you have indicated as coming soon? i sure hope so. i sure hope so.

I can’t seem to download my diary today. Using Chrome. Active Server Pages error ‘ASP 0113’ Script timed out /downfile.asp The maximum amount of time for a script to execute was exceeded. You can change this limit by specifying a new value for the property Server.ScriptTimeout or by changing the value in the IIS administration tools.

October 21, 2013

sorry to bother, I am having an issue with my lifetime diary, I have ads, very annoying ads, is there some way to fix this? thank you for your time and effort!

October 21, 2013

Please disregard my previous note, I found the culprit and thankfully it wasn’t my beloved OD, thank you again for your work here and have a good day!

I am also unable to post entries with the WI-something editor. I have tried unchecking, saving, and rechecking the editor on the diary maintenance page, and it doesn’t fix it. If you could look into this, that would be great. Thanks!

Hi, just made a payment for a 12 month subscription but it’s not been applied to my diary [Peppermint.] The subscription receipt number is S-4DD20112S8389210C Thanks.

I am seriously looking forward to your new diary site these days.

Date of Sign Up: 21 Oct 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-4DD20112S8389210C Item Number: ODP12 Exchange rate: The exchange rate for this purchase is 1 GBP = 1.56494USD Subscription Terms: $30.00 USD for 12 months

EWS
October 22, 2013

Update: I heard the from The DiaryMaster a little while ago. He says that he was out of town for a few days and is now looking into items that I texted him about during that time. We talked about database items, and I already see that he removed a whole bunch of spam diaries that were clogging things up. He’ll continue to work on the database issues and hopefully we can finally get things back tonormal soon. Eric

Thank you, your help is much appreciated 🙂

RYN: Google Chrome and Version 30.0.1599.101

Eric, This site is getting so bad. What is the DM thinking? I know he has a family & a full time job but people are mad. I’m surprised at some of the entries I’m reading & that’s only when I can get on here for a few minutes. He might want to hand the reins over to you until you get your site up & running. You have always helped me & any of my friends that I sent your way and for that I am appreciative so thank you. I’ll see you over at Prosebox. Robin

km
October 23, 2013

On the rare occasion that I am actually able to log in, I find all my entries missing and no ability to download any of my entries. My main page still counts my entries; I just can’t see any titles or access any of them.

October 23, 2013

Is there any update on fixing the time out problem? I’m having the problem of every page timing out and refreshing the page not working. I have to re-enter the web address to get to the home page and hope the next time I click on something it goes through.

October 23, 2013

when are you guys going to FIX this website already? I think it’s pretty damn sad that all the lifetime members paid $100 to help when bruce was begging for help and now that we need him, where is he? I am a SINGLE parent, paying EVERY month and this site is slow and doesn’t work alot, yet we are never given back the time we lose in our accounts.

Thanks for the update…it took me 18mins to get this page to load so I could even leave a note…

October 25, 2013

Thanks Eric.. This must be driving you crazy…. Hopefully things will get better soon.

October 25, 2013

Sorry to bother, but for months now I have been getting this error message, but constantly for the past month I cannot access my bookmarks. This is the error message I get. Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /bookmarks.asp, line 137

October 25, 2013

Hi, Im having problems with actually writing anything in my OD. Everytime I go to write a new entry all I see is a little arrow that says to expand toolbar or collapse toolbar, but when I swich it down or up nothing happens. Thank you

October 26, 2013

I feel a sense of apathy amongst Open Diary members. What good does it do to say anything anymore? Nothing changes.

October 27, 2013

Like other readers, I’ve been trying to write entries as of late and all I get is a box with arrows to expand/collapse the tool bar but nothing happens when I click it (nor am I even able to type in the box.) Same with the constant error message – what’s going on? I feel like we’ve been told that the site is being “worked on” for weeks now, BUT NOTHING HAS IMPROVED.

October 27, 2013

Site much better for the entire day! Thank you!

Spam diaries? Whoof! We now have had several days in which OD is functioning . My gratitude. Please tell Bruce that this site is unique, and means a lot to OD’ers.

October 28, 2013

EWS are you any closer to getting your diary up and running?

October 28, 2013

Hi, sorry to trouble you but I haven’t been able to write anything in my diary now for over a week. All I can write is the title and that’s it! At first I was able to write the title and save and then edit and write in the main body, but not any more. I’m using Google Chrome by the way, but have used that for years. Help??

October 28, 2013

RYN: Thanks for getting back to me. I am using Google Chrome and always have been. I did as you suggested but it made no difference. I then went and disabled again and left it like that and I can now write again! Thanks

October 28, 2013

ryn: thanks again ! 🙂

October 28, 2013

Can anything be done for the spamming of entries that just started. It’s covering the new entry list. 🙁 All kinds of advertisements hidden as “entries.”

October 29, 2013

Hi, I haven’t been able to write new entries for several weeks now; every time I go to the page, there’s that little.. line, like a fragment of the text editor, w/ a drop-down arrow, but nothing drops down when you click it, and i can’t type anything except a title. Click in the box to type, & it won’t let me. Is like left-clicking on a blank white background, nothing happens. 🙁

October 29, 2013

I’ve tried it in both Chrome and I.E..

October 29, 2013

Yes indeed, I am.

Thanks for the note. Nice of you. I appreciate your efforts here, although I’m finding that the other place suits me better (love the plain, easy to read format). I will still post and read here for the time being, as I have friends who are only here. Do you still intend to bring forth a place of your own? I hope so. Would like to see your own ideas of what’s good in a diary site.

October 29, 2013

I keep getting this error when I try to go to the latest entry on Zenith’s diary The website cannot display the page HTTP 500 Most likely causes: •The website is under maintenance. •The website has a programming error. What you can try: Refresh the page. Go back to the previouspage. More information More information I was able to get into the entry by going to her front page though, I know she’s been having issues with this, thank you for your help,

Second attempt at trying to leave a note. I am 70. I recently changed my password. I typed it into notepad, on my computer. I now have it nowhere, and can’t remember it. :(( I am so upset with myself. Plus, the e-mail I now have, is NOT registered on here, cuz I moved, and changed NET providers. I have entries to 2007. I pray you can help. Please email me: Butterfly4Him01@gmail.com. I need my OD.

October 30, 2013

Someone made a diary to advertise their business in California. I didn’t write down the name. They made a whole bunch of entries and the whole front page was filled by them (at the time). I haven’t seen them since. If I stumble upon them again, I’ll let you know. Otherwise don’t worry about it.

Yesterday I paid for a month’s OD Plus subscription so that I could download a PDF of my diary, but I have not yet been added to OD Plus. Could you please help? I can email you the invoice if need be. Thanks so much for your dedication!

Thank you, kind sir. Here we are: Date of sign up: Oct 29, 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-5EK04893HH038632V Item Number: ODP1 Exchange rate: The exchange rate for this purchase is 1 CAD = 0.925925USD Subscription Terms: $3.00 USD for one month

Also, this is FAKE right!? http://www.prosebox.net/box/1722/ Curiously, I went to paste my details to you and OD timed out for like 10 minutes. Tried to log in on Chrome instead of FF, it took a very long time also. But! I got a yellow error notice saying the name and password I entered was incorrect…but my OD name was in the corner and I was logged in despite my info being “incorrect?” :S

October 30, 2013

I just saw your note below about spam diaries being cleaned up and deleted. Does “report a diary” actually do something (since the helpdesk was removed)? I report ’em when I see them and then move on. Nice to see the site running a bit smoother, although my notelist is still all FUBAR’d. Actually being able to load pages at a decent speed is nice 🙂 Just came in to drop this error; don’t need a follow up. Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e2f’ Violation of PRIMARY KEY constraint ‘PK_NoteHistory175’. Cannot insert duplicate key in object ‘dbo.NoteHistory175’. /notesave.asp, line 327 I deleted a note because I missed a word in my sentence and it didn’t make sense. I fixed my grammatical error and reposted. The note saved, though.

Hi! I’m having the same problem as “in_the_flesh” above, where I had payment go through for a one-month OD+ membership and haven’t had the membership update on the site yet. I’ve tried logging out and logging back in, but that didn’t seem to help. Thanks for any assistance!

Here you go; thanks so much! Subscription Details Date of sign up: Oct 30, 2013 Subscription Name: Open Diary Subscription Renewal Subscription Number: S-2AM573085A048072D Item Number: ODP1 Subscription Terms: $3.00 USD for one month

XML Parsing Error: unexpected parser state Location: jar:file:///C:/ProgramFiles(x86)/MozillaFirefox/omni.ja!/chrome/toolkit/content/global/netError.xhtml Line Number 311, Column 58:

ryn;; You are made of so much fantastic. Thanks hugely!

November 1, 2013

Hi, I seem to be having the same issue that some of the noters here mentioned. I can’t write an entry. The title area works, but the body where an entry would go does not accept any characters.

November 2, 2013

Never had a problem with OD until today – now getting timeout errors 🙁 Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /entryview.asp, line 306

November 2, 2013

Never had a problem with OD until today – now getting timeout errors 🙁 Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error ‘80040e31’ Timeout expired /entryview.asp, line 306

As with many others I can’t write an entry 🙁

Hiya! I’m trying to download my diary in PDF format and consistently getting HTTP 500 errors when I try; I also can’t get anything within my diary to load beyond the “read all notes page.”

Hi, thanks again, so much for helping me. Now, I have a more serious problem. I can NOT navigate around to any pages. I am even lucky if it lets me sign in. I just want to download my OD to my harddrive, as a backup, just in case it takes a dive. I love OD, and I truly want it to go on and on, and on, etc, but, I am not technologically minded, so I can’t foresee all these problems being easy to fix. I am NOT slamming or complaining. Is there any

November 4, 2013

Awesome You Tube Clip!!!!!!!!!!! That is Insane but I love it!!!!!!