New Beginnings???

I am feeling a bit more optimistic lately and a bit more capable of recognizing and breathing through my anxieties. I am also very happy that switching to a new birth control pill contributed to feeling a bit more stable. The underlying PTSD and anxieties are already there, and a negative hormone experience is like gas on the fire.

I had a second job interview today for a job as a Family Advocate at a non-profit that I feel very excited but nervous about. I expressed worries to my partner about my panic attacks making it difficult to consistently get into work at a full-time 40 hour a week job, which I haven’t worked full-time in a year. These panics come and go in waves. Sometimes I’m good for a long period of time, even a whole year, and then these can last a couple weeks up to a couple months. However, I have been going through an immense amount of stress the last couple years and unearthed a lot of childhood trauma the last year and a half and I think that this has taken its toll. However, I have worked really hard to change how I respond to my anxiety and depression, apathy, hopelessness, and fear. I am able to identify and talk about my feelings more and more often. I was surprised at how difficult it really was for me to identify what I was feeling in the moment.

So, I feel… optimistic about this job, but still nervous. Stepping away from my first career to pursue my passion has been a difficult nerve wracking decision, but I am leaning into my authentic self, true nature, and passion. I have to remember that I am human, and work through my anxiety and feelings as they come. <3

Log in to write a note
February 17, 2022

Continue writing here on Open Diary.  I just know writing will be helpful when it comes to the anxiety and panic that you feel at times.  Congratulations on your new job!

February 17, 2022

@thebestisyettocome thank you 🤓

February 17, 2022

Congrats on the new job. I’m proud of all the work you have done to learn how to work through your anxieties. You are not alone.

February 17, 2022

@celestialflutter , thanks, WE are not alone 🙂

February 17, 2022

@jordan-leona You mentioned this was a career change. What do you currently do?

February 17, 2022

@celestialflutter, I am a registered nurse (7 years) and I am going back to school to be a therapist (LCSW route). I have been getting up the courage to leave nursing to work more with my passion completely outside of a nursing. Even though I am already in school for the second career, this is scary because it very concretely changes my trajectory and resume away from nursing. Whew…

February 17, 2022

@jordan-leona But so awesome. I’ve worked in social work for 10 years as a case manager and recently became manager of my team. My therapist is an LCSW and she’s the best. Let’s celebrate your new path! *throws biodegradable confetti 🎊 in the air*