(Entry 14) Truths and Empowerment.

Do you know emotional abuse is the most common abuse?

Contrary to the popular belief which says sexual abuse is the most common abuse, in reality, it is emotional abuse that tops the list. One of the reasons why emotional abuse stays undetected/unidentified is because it happens on such minor levels in daily life that we often fail to notice/acknowledge it.

Another reason can be the lack of awareness. After all, you too didn’t know emotional abuse being the most common abuse until you read this entry, did you?

Another surprising term is – Family scapegoat syndrome. This syndrome occurs when the family/group of people (like in office, gatherings etc.) select one person and puts all the blame on him or her. The person bearing the weight of all the blames is the scapegoat. In the case of family unit, he or she is known as family scapegoat.

It does not matter how shocking these little truths of life are. What matters the most is that – first, what do you do with the knowledge? and second, are you going to help someone who is being emotionally abused or used as a family scapegoat?

Certain truths of life can be disheartening. They can be painful. And hence, equally powerful. Use them to empower yourself. No one, not even your loved ones, has the right to steal your light. And if they are doing it then you need to redefine Loved ones.

Any life lesson you Would like to share?

 

Log in to write a note

I was very emotionally abused by that last guy I really dated and was planing on getting married. It was his own mum who told me he was not any good and she did not want my to end up dead by his hand. It was hard but the right thing for me to do. I was sadder losing her then it really was letting him go.

March 16, 2021

@mermycohea I am sorry to hear that you were sad but also happy that you are saved. People like that woman are the angels. I hope you are doing well now.

March 15, 2021

I am the family scapegoat in my family and was emotionally abused

March 16, 2021

@itsjustmarina That’s awful! Even i was emotionally abused. it is such a devastating experience to go through. i wish people like us peace and strength.

March 15, 2021

My father was both physically and emotionally abusive, not just to my mother, but his children as well.  The physical stuff you get over, but the emotional baggage seems to linger, even when you think you’ve conquered it.  The man has been dead since 2002 and still sometimes he haunts my dreams.  It makes me angry at both him and myself that he still holds power over me.

March 16, 2021

@wren They say, family is the place of love and peace but somehow, we end up at the opposite spectrum. i too was emotionally abused.

i am so sorry to hear about your story. And you said it right. Physical scars can heal but mental scars stay. i wish you peace and strength.

March 16, 2021

Thank you so much @britishpoptart, @tetamarina and @wren for sharing your stories. It shows we have the ability and mettle to survive and thrive.